Skip to content

Wombat Blues to be self-published

April 3, 2010

I will soon be self-publishing my first novel Wombat Blues.  I’m bringing it out as a series of zines.  It’s a young gay adventure love story, set in a logging town in Victoria, Australia.

This novel took me two years to write and a few more to realise that mainstream publishers didn’t want to touch it.  I don’t blame them.  It’s a story that simply can’t fit into 120 paperback pages, no matter how hard I try to squeeze its little toes in.  You write an epic and you pay the price.  I think it’s got more in common with a TV series than your average published novel.  Please, I’m not thinking Neighbours.  More your Breaking Bad or Weeds.  What are the Australian equivalents?  None that I know of, but I look forward to the film version(s) of John Marsden’s Tomorrow When the War Began series.  Let’s hope they don’t recast the whole thing into a neat 2.5 hours (the equivalent of 120 pages).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

